AES+F

MARE MEDITERRANEUM

"AES+F. Mare Mediterraneum" exhibition at Teatro Massimo, as part of Manifesta 12.
Palermo, Italy, June 15 - September 19, 2018.

DESCRIPTION :

Artworks: 9 porcelain figurines, colorfully hand painted et 1 multimedia installation. 
Organizing institution : MAMM - Multimedia Art Museum Moscow
Curator: Olga Sviblova
General partners: AVC Charity Foundation and Fondazione Teatro Massimo
Executive Producer: Elisabetta di Mambro
Production partners: Noirmontartproduction, edm productions, LK Porcelain Studio and Barco Residential
Supported by: Ministry of Culture of Russian Federation and Institute of Italian Culture in Moscow

IN A FEW WORDS ...

The Mediterranean - a territory where, in significant part, modern human civilization was born, with its culture and three most prevalent religions. Its heart has pumped people, cultures and religions from shore to shore like blood.

From the Roman Empire to the Arab caliphate, to the colonial wars and now the European Union, the territory around the Mediterranean Sea at times formed one culture and government, and at times split in bloody religious and territorial conflict.
Sicily is right in the its middle and the waves of all civilizations have splashed on her shores.

Now we are once again living in an epoch of global change - cultural, demographic, political, and economic. The Mediterranean, like in the past, is in the epicenter of these events. We are once again seeing mass migration of people, armed conflicts, but also brilliant displays of humanity and empathy.

Alike Europa who in ancient myth was forced by Zeus to cross the sea, war has pushed refugees and migrants who have floated ans swum accross it to confront Europe with a difficult choice. Their choice has already led to politically charged and ideological confrontations, to the polarization of public opinion and to the rise of xenophobia and ethnic violence.
This tragic situation has become a political conflict as well as the subject of negotiation and ideological speculation. In this form it has been transmitted by the media as a meme in what is now described as "post-truth". The ethical situation that has unfolded out of this is paradoxical to say the least.

A metaphorical vision of the harsh reality of the present Mediterranean crises

The exhibition unveils AES+F's new eponymous series which consists in 9 porcelain figurines, colorfully hand painted, created in the tradition of 19th century Napolitan porcelain manufacture Capodimonte, and a multimedia installation, depicting various states of the sea - calm or storm.

Making porcelain figurines on such a subject could be thought an extreme manifestation of this paradox. Yet, through its distance, an artistic image may be more radical than reality itself because it can push conceptual limits.
Porcelain has always been a symbol of contentment and bourgeois comfort. The recent waves of migrations have confronted europe with a dilemna: whether to accept refugees - allowing them to enter at the cost of the material and psychological comfort of their hosts; or to reject them in an immoral, inhumane and cynical act that would undermine the co-operative ethical basis of europe itself. Comfort is both fallible and fragile, like the porcelain that is associated with it. Kept safe for generations in high places, porcelain figures are attentively guarded but their fragility encapsulates the threat of instantaneous loss. They shatter easily.

By expanding on this tradition, AES+F's Mare Mediterraneum series is their call for empathy and compassion, reflecting on the metaphorical juxtaposition of porcelain's fragility with the harsh reality of the crises facing the Mediterranean. A reflected ray of light that illuminates this crucial issue better than a direct one...

After Europe, Europe (2008), their previous series of porcelain groups featuring ethnic conflicts between Europeans and their guests, Mare Mediterraneum is the latest body of work of the Russian collective formed by Tatiana Arzamasova, Lev Evzovich, Evgeny Svyatsky and Vladimir Fridkes, whose work has developed between photography, video and digital technologies, although with a persistent interest in traditional media like painting, drawing and architecture. Deploying a sophisticated, poetic dialogue among these media, and plumbing the depths of art history and other cultural canons, AES+F's grand visual narratives explore the values, vices and conflicts of contemporary culture in the global sphere.

AES+F live and work in Moscow.

AES+F

MARE MEDITERRANEUM

"AES+F. Mare Mediterraneum" exposition au Teatro Massimo, dans le cadre de la Manifesta 12.
Palerme, Italie, 15 juin -19 septembre 2018.

DESCRIPTIF :

Oeuvres : 9 figurines en porcelaine peinte à la main et 1 installation multimedia. 
Institution organisatrice : MAMM - Multimedia Art Museum Moscow
Commissaire d'exposition: Olga Sviblova
Partenaires principaux: AVC Charity Foundation and Fondazione Teatro Massimo
Producteur exécutif: Elisabetta di Mambro
Producteurs partenaires : Noirmontartproduction, edm productions, LK Porcelain Studio and Barco Residential
Soutenu par : Ministre de la Culture de la Fédération de Russie et Institut de la culture Italienne à Moscou

EN QUELQUES MOTS ...

La Méditerranée - un territoire où, de façon significative, est née la civilisation humaine moderne, avec sa culture et les trois religions prédominantes. Son cœur a pompé les peuples, les cultures et les religions de rivage en rivage, comme du sang.

De l'Empire Romain au Califat Arabe, jusqu'aux guerres coloniales et maintenant l'Union Européenne, le territoire autour de la Mer Méditerranée a parfois constitué une seule culture et un seul gouvernement et s'est parfois divisée en conflits religieux et territoriaux sanglants.
Située en son centre, la Sicile a été marquée par les flux de toutes les civilisations qui ont atteint ses côtes.

Aujourd'hui nous vivons à nouveau dans une époque de changement global - culturel, démographique, politique et économique. Comme dans le passé, la Méditerranée est l'épicentre de ces événements et de la contradiction idéologique qui en résulte. Nous assistons à nouveau à des migrations humaines massives, à des conflits armés, mais aussi à des brillantes démonstrations d'humanité et d'empathie.
A l'instar du mythe antique d'Europe qui traversa la Méditerranée contrainte par Zeus, les réfugiés et les migrants ont fui la guerre, confrontant l'Europe à un choix difficile. Leur choix a déjà entraîné des confrontations idéologiques à connotation politique, une polarisation de l'opinion publique, l'augmentation de la xénophobie et de la violence ethnique.
Cette situation tragique a tourné au conflit politique et est devenue un sujet de négociation et de spéculation idéologique. C'est sous cette forme qu'elle a été transmise aux médias, comme une réplique de ce qui est maintenant décrit comme une "post-vérité". La situation éthique qui en est issue est pour le moins paradoxale.

Une vision métaphorique de la dure réalité des crises méditerranéennes actuelles

L'exposition dévoile la nouvelle série éponyme d'AES+F, qui prend la forme de 9 figurines en porcelaine, peintes à la main dans des couleurs soutenues et créées dans la tradition de la fabrique de porcelaine napolitaine du XIXe siècle, Capodimonte, et d'une installation multimedia, figurant la mer dans des conditions variées, du calme à la tempête.

Créer des figurines en porcelaine sur un tel thème pourrait être considéré comme la manifestation extrême de ce paradoxe actuel; pourtant, par sa distance avec la réalité, une image artistique peut être plus radicale encore que la réalité elle-même car elle repousse les limites conceptuelles.
La porcelaine a toujours été un symbole de contentement et de confort bourgeois. Les récentes vagues de migration ont confronté l'Europe à un dilemme: celui d'accepter les réfugiés (et les laisser entrer au prix du confort idéologique et matériel de leurs hôtes) ou de les rejeter, dans un acte immoral, inhumain et cynique, qui minerait la base éthique commune de l'Europe. Le confort est à la fois faillible et fragile, comme la porcelaine qui y est associée. Mises en sécurité pendant des générations dans des endroits en hauteur, les figurines en porcelaine sont conservées avec soin mais leur fragilité intègre la menace de la perte instantanée; elles se brisent facilement.

Offrant un nouveau développement à cette tradition manufacturière, la série Mare Mediterraneum est un appel d'AES+F à l'empathie et à la compassion, reflété par la juxtaposition métaphorique de la fragilité de la porcelaine avec la dure réalité des crises auxquelles la Méditerranée fait face. Un rayon de lumière en reflet qui illumine cette problématique cruciale mieux qu'un éclairage direct...

Après Europe, Europe (2008), leur précédente série de groupes en porcelaine relative aux problèmes ethniques inter- ou extra-européens, Mare Mediterraneum est le plus récent travail du quatuor russe formé par Tatiana Arzamasova, Lev Evzovich, Evgeny Svyatsky et Vladimir Fridkes, dont l'oeuvre se développe entre photographie, vidéo et technologies digitales, avec un intérêt néanmoins persistant pour les media traditionnels comme peinture, dessin et architecture. En déployant un dialogue poétique sophistiqué à travers ces supports, tout en sondant les profondeurs de l'histoire de l'art et d'autres canons culturels, les grandes narrations visuelles d'AES+F explorent les valeurs, les vices et les conflits de la culture contemporaine dans la sphère globale.

AES+F vivent et travailles à Moscou.