JEFF KOONS

BOUQUET OF TULIPS

Monumental sculpture offered by donation to the City of Paris in support from the Americans to the French people bereaved by the attacks of 2015 and 2016.
Inauguration on October 4th, 2019 in the gardens of the Champs-Élysées, Paris.

DESCRIPTION :

Bouquet of Tulips
2016 – 2019
Unique piece
Sculpture : polychromed bronze, stainless steel and aluminium
Base : stone (Lutetian limestone from the quarries of Ile-de-France)
Dimensions (including base) : Height    41’ 4 63/64”
                                                 Width      27’ 4 49/64”
                                                 Depth      34’ 31/64”
Weight / sculpture : 33,790 kg / base : 27,000 kg / total : 60,790 kg

Official press release from the City of Paris.

IN A FEW WORDS ...

On Friday October 4, 2019 will be inaugurated Jeff Koons’s Bouquet of Tulips, the artwork offered to the City of Paris in support from the American people to the Parisians and French people bereaved by the attacks of 2015 - 2016, on the initiative of Jane Hartley, Ambassador of the United States of America to the French Republic and Principality of Monaco from 2014 to 2017.

Particularly moved by the numerous displays of support and friendship expressed by American citizens towards Parisians and the French people following the terrible attacks perpetrated in 2015 and 2016, Jane Hartley called upon Jeff Koons to offer to Paris an emblematic artwork, and to reaffirm as such the links that unite our two peoples around their shared attachment to the principle of Liberty. Recognized as one of the greatest artists of our time, a great lover of Paris and France, whose work is steeped in references to French art history, Jeff Koons embodies Americans’ historic attachment to French culture.

It was with great enthusiasm that Anne Hidalgo, Mayor of Paris, accepted this gift of exceptional importance, aware of the enrichment of Parisian and French heritage which it represents: The fact that this great artist has decided to offer to the City of Paris a monumental work in tribute to the victims shows the unalterable friendship and attachment between our capital city and the United States of America.

The donation was officially announced on November 22, 2016, during a press conference in Paris in the presence of Jane Hartley, Anne Hidalgo and Jeff Koons.

Our two countries share so much politically, economically and culturally – but most importantly, France and the United States share a deeply held belief in the universal principles of Freedom and Liberty. Throughout history, when one of us has faced challenges, the other has been there in solidarity and support. These past two years, in the wake of such terrible attacks in France – attacks aimed directly at those shared values – this relationship has become even stronger, and it is something worth celebrating. The arts are a powerful tool that remind us of our commonalities and bring people of all ages, colors, creeds, circumstances and backgrounds together, had then stated Jane Hartley.

"Bouquet of Tulips" symbolizes the act of offering.

Imagined by the artist as a symbol of remembrance, optimism and healingBouquet of Tulips is a monumental and unique sculpture, created by Jeff Koons for this donation to the City of Paris.

Symbolizing the act of offering, represented by the outstretched hand holding a bouquet of brightly-colored flowers, Bouquet of Tulips evokes the hand of the Statue of Liberty holding the torch, while it also has a dialogue with Pablo Picasso’s Friendship BouquetFlowers are associated here as well as universally with optimism, rebirth, the vitality of nature, and the cycle of life. They are a symbol that life goes forward, explained Jeff Koons in November 2016.

The work has a very realistic appearance, both the hand and the balloon tulips. The work evokes support and friendship in the realization of the terrible loss from the terrorist attacks in 2015 and 2016 but also symbolizes the offering of friendship and support between France and the United States. To convey the loss that occurred to the victims and their families, the bouquet is comprised of only eleven flowers. The missing twelfth will always represent the loss that occurred from the attacks.

Bouquet of Tulips will be permanently installed in the gardens of the Champs-Elysées, between the Petit Palais and the place de la Concorde, at the heart of an unexpectedly peaceful green space in this historic and popular area, frequented by numerous Parisians, French people and foreign tourists.

This location was agreed on October 11, 2018 thanks to the mediation of Christophe Girard, First Deputy to the Mayor of Paris in charge of Culture, after consulting with the Ministry of Culture and the artist, then definitively accepted by a favorable judgment from the Sites Commission on March 21, 2019 and issuance of the development permit on May 29, 2019.

The choice of this location close to the American Embassy, in the triangle bordered by the avenue Dutuit, the avenue Edward Tuck and the cours La Reine, which is presently being renovated as part of the redevelopment and enhancement of the gardens of the Champs-Elysées, was very favorably received by the Comité des Champs-Elysées.

In direct line with historic donations of monumental artworks, the financing of the fabrication and installation of Bouquet of Tulips has been entirely covered by private funds, in this case American and French in conjunction with the context of this donation.

Much like the Statue of Liberty, of which the sculpture was financed by French donors and the base by American donors for an almost equal budget, the budget of Bouquet of Tulips, initially fixed at 3.5 million euros, was the subject of a call for donations coordinated by Noirmontartproduction in collaboration with Le Fonds pour Paris / The Paris Foundation (the City of Paris’ foundation), these two entities graciously providing their cooperation to the project.

The funds were raised from French and American donors, all of whom are very attached to the links of friendship and solidarity that unite our two peoples and are keen to sustain them.

The fabrication and installation costs being ultimately higher than the amount initially set, the artist has decided to bear alone the additional costs borne out of developments to the project.

In order to inscribe this donation into a spirit of complete generosity, Jeff Koons has wished since the start of the project to give all of his future earnings in royalties from this artwork to the associations of victims’ families.

Under an agreement signed between the City of Paris and Jeff Koons, which confirmed his lasting commitment, 80% of the revenue generated from the visual exploitation of the artwork will as such be allocated to these associations, which expressed their gratitude, and 20% to the City of Paris for the maintenance of the work.

Less than four years after the project’s launch by Jane Hartley in January 2016, it is this wonderful lasting link of friendship, solidarity, strength and unity between the American and French people which will be celebrated by the inauguration of Bouquet of Tulips !

The achievement of this donation has thus been made possible thanks to the principal support of:

WEBER INVESTISSEMENTS
Kenneth C. GRIFFIN
ACCOR
CANTOR FITZGERALD / AUREL BGC
FINANCIÈRE SAINT JAMES Michaël BENABOU
Jane HARTLEY & Ralph SCHLOSSTEIN
LVMH Moët Hennessy - Louis Vuitton
Chaille B. MADDOX & Jonathan A. KNEE
NATIXIS

and the additional support of:

Debra & Leon BLACK
FREE
TISHMAN SPEYER
Leonard A. LAUDER
JP MORGAN
The Edward John and Patricia ROSENWALD FOUNDATION
BLOOMBERG

AT THE ORIGIN...
U.S. Artist Jeff Koons offers Bouquet of Tulips to the City of Paris and the People of France as a Symbol of Friendship.

130 years after France gave the Statue of Liberty to the United States, Jeff Koons wanted to celebrate the remarkable Franco-American alliance that has endured and flourished for over 200 years, by creating Bouquet of Tulips.

The idea of offering such a symbol of friendship between the French and the American people came about following discussions between Jeff Koons and The Honorable Jane D. Hartley, Ambassador of the United States of America to France and Monaco from May 2014 until January 2017.

Jeff Koons explains: “Bouquet of Tulips was created as a symbol of remembrance, optimism, and healing in moving forward from the horrific events that occurred in Paris one year ago. Bouquet of Tulips references the hand of the Statue of Liberty holding the torch. I wanted to make a gesture of friendship between the people of the United States and France. The work also has a dialogue with Pablo Picasso’s Friendship Bouquet and his sculpture Woman with Vase in the act of offering. You can also look at the sculpture and think of the Impressionist flowers of Monet or the Rococo flowers of François Boucher or Jean-Honoré Fragonard. Flowers are associated universally with optimism, rebirth, the vitality of nature, and the cycle of life. They are a symbol that life goes forward.”

For Ambassador Hartley, this donation reminds us that “our two countries share so much politically, economically, and culturally – but most importantly, France and the United States share a deeply held belief in the universal principles of Freedom and Liberty. Throughout history, when one of us has faced challenges, the other has been there in solidarity and support. Art is a powerful tool that brings people of all ages, colors, creeds, circumstances, and backgrounds together. It is a source of inspiration and hope for the future.”

Anne Hidalgo, Mayor of Paris, said: “The fact that this great artist has decided to offer to the City of Paris the original idea of a monumental work that symbolizes generosity and sharing shows the unalterable attachment between our capital city and the United States of America. The capital of France will be happy to welcome the iconic work Bouquet of Tulips, which is intended to become part of Paris heritage, as the Statue of Liberty is part of the New York’s heritage. It will participate in the influence of our city throughout the world and proves once again how attractive Paris is for contemporary art.”

The project was officially announced during a press conference in Paris on November 22, 2016, in the presence of Jane Hartley, Anne Hidalgo and Jeff Koons.

As the installation site needs to be relevant to the symbolism of the artwork, it was then proposed to the artist to install the work on Place de Tokyo, next to the avenue du Président Wilson. This site, located at the entrance of the Museum of Modern art of the City of Paris and of the Palais de Tokyo, is naturally associated to cultural and human values, as to both the municipal and national aspect of the donation. This place is also at the heart of an area emblematic of the American generosity towards France.
The sites close to the attacks had not been retained ever since the beginning of the project, out of respect for the victims' families who wish to install their memorials there.

As French cultural personalities opposed the choice of this site during autumn 2017, the installation location was then the subject of discussions during several months between the City of Paris, the Ministry of Culture and the artist. An agreement was finally reached on October 10, 2018, and the work will be installed in 2019 in the gardens of the Champs-Elysées at the back of the Petit Palais.

As historically any donation of monumental artwork, the financing of this project is entirely covered by Franco-American private funds, such as the Statue of Liberty, for which Bartholdi offered the design, the sculpture being paid for by French public subscriptions and the base by American public subscriptions, at a cost almost equivalent to that of the sculpture. Limited to the costs of manufacturing and installation of the artwork, the financing of the Bouquet of Tulips was found by Noirmontartproduction in coordination with the Fonds pour Paris, from donors wishing to demonstrate on this occasion their attachment to the bonds of friendship and the values of freedom that unite the American and French peoples.

A necessary clarification, January 29, 2018, updated on January 31, 2018.

Jeff Koons was born in 1955 in York, Pennsylvania. He lives and works in New York.

JEFF KOONS

BOUQUET OF TULIPS

Sculpture monumentale offerte par donation à la Ville de Paris en soutien du peuple Américain aux Parisiens et aux Français endeuillés par les attentats de 2015 et 2016.
Inauguration le 4 octobre 2019 dans les jardins des Champs-Élysées, Paris.

DESCRIPTIF :

Bouquet of Tulips
2016 – 2019
Pièce unique
Sculpture : bronze, acier inoxydable et aluminium polychromes
Socle : pierre (calcaire Lutécien provenant des carrières d’Ile de France)
Dimensions (incluant socle) : Hauteur        12,62 m
                                               Largeur           8,35 m
                                               Profondeur   10,38 m
Poids / sculpture : 33.790 kg / socle : 27.000 kg / total : 60.790 kg

Communiqué de presse officiel de la Ville de Paris.

EN QUELQUES MOTS ...

Vendredi 4 octobre 2019 sera inauguré le Bouquet of Tulips de Jeff Koons, œuvre offerte à la Ville de Paris en soutien du peuple américain aux Parisiens et aux Français endeuillés par les attentats de 2015 - 2016, à l'initiative de Jane Hartley, Ambassadrice des États-Unis d'Amérique auprès de la République Française et de la Principauté de Monaco de 2014 à 2017.

Particulièrement émue par les très nombreux témoignages de soutien et d'amitié exprimés par des citoyens américains envers les Parisiens et les Français à la suite des terribles attentats perpétrés en 2015 et 2016, Jane Hartley avait sollicité Jeff Koons pour offrir à Paris une œuvre d'art emblématique et réaffirmer ainsi les liens qui unissent nos deux peuples autour de leur attachement commun au principe de Liberté. Reconnu comme l’un des plus grands artistes actuels, grand amoureux de Paris et de la France, Jeff Koons incarne l’attachement historique des Américains à la culture française, son œuvre étant imprégnée de références à l’histoire de l’art français.

C'est avec grand enthousiasme qu'Anne Hidalgo, Maire de Paris, avait accueilli ce don d’une importance exceptionnelle, consciente de l’enrichissement du patrimoine parisien et français qu’il représente : Que cet immense artiste décide d’offrir à la Ville de Paris une œuvre monumentale en hommage aux victimes, témoigne de l’amitié et de l’attachement irrévocables entre notre capitale et les États-Unis.

La donation fut annoncée officiellement le 22 novembre 2016 lors d'une conférence de presse à Paris en présence de Jane Hartley, Anne Hidalgo et Jeff Koons.

Nos deux pays partagent énormément, autant du point de vue politique qu'économique et culturel ; mais ils partagent aussi et avant tout une foi inébranlable dans le principe universel de Liberté. Chaque fois que l'un d'entre nous s'est trouvé dans l'adversité au cours de l'histoire, le second a fait preuve de solidarité et de soutien. Au cours des deux dernières années et à la suite des terribles attentats qui se sont produits en France des attentats dirigés contre ces valeurs communes - ces liens se sont encore renforcés et ils valent la peine d'être célébrés. Les arts sont un puissant instrument qui nous rappelle nos points communs et nous rassemblent, au-delà de l'âge, de la couleur de peau, des croyances, de la condition et de l'histoire de chacun avait ainsi témoigné Jane Hartley.

"Bouquet of Tulips" symbolise l'acte d'offrir.

Imaginée par l’artiste comme un symbole de souvenir, d'optimisme et de rétablissement, Bouquet of Tulips est une sculpture monumentale et unique, créée par Jeff Koons pour cette donation à la Ville de Paris.

Symbolisant l'acte d'offrir, représenté par la main tendue brandissant un bouquet de fleurs aux couleurs vives, Bouquet of Tulips évoque la main de la Statue de la Liberté brandissant la torche, tout en dialoguant avec le Bouquet de l'Amitié de Pablo Picasso. Les fleurs sont ici comme universellement liées à l'optimisme, à la renaissance, à la vitalité de la nature et au cycle de vie. Elles symbolisent la vie qui continue, détaillait Jeff Koons en novembre 2016.

L’œuvre a une apparence très réaliste, à la fois la main et les tulipes ballons. L’œuvre évoque le soutien et l’amitié dans la prise de conscience de la perte terrible née des attentats terroristes de 2015 et 2016 et symbolise aussi le don d’amitié et de soutien entre la France et les États-Unis. Pour représenter la perte qui a affecté les victimes et leurs familles, le bouquet se compose de seulement onze fleurs ; la douzième manquante représentera toujours la perte causée par ces attentats.

Bouquet of Tulips sera installé de façon pérenne dans les jardins des Champs-Élysées, entre le Petit Palais et la place de la Concorde, au sein d'un espace vert étonnamment serein dans ce quartier historique et populaire, fréquenté par de très nombreux Parisiens, Français et touristes étrangers.

Cet emplacement a été agréé le 11 octobre 2018 grâce à la médiation de Christophe Girard, adjoint à la Maire de Paris en charge de la Culture, après concertation avec le Ministère de la Culture et l'artiste, puis définitivement accepté avec avis favorable par la Commission des Sites du 21 mars 2019 et délivrance du permis d'aménager le 29 mai 2019.

Le choix de cet emplacement proche de l’ambassade américaine, dans le triangle délimité par l’avenue Dutuit, l’avenue Edward Tuck et le cours La Reine, qui fait actuellement l’objet d’une requalification dans le cadre du projet de réaménagement et de mise en valeur de l’ensemble des jardins des Champs-Élysées, a été accueilli très favorablement par le Comité des Champs-Élysées.

Dans le droit fil des donations historiques d'œuvres monumentales, le financement de la fabrication et de l'installation du Bouquet of Tulips a été couvert en totalité par des fonds privés, américains et français, en liaison avec le contexte de cette donation.

À l'image de la Statue de la Liberté, dont la sculpture fut financée par des donateurs français et le socle par des donateurs américains pour un budget quasi-équivalent, le budget du Bouquet of Tulips initialement fixé à 3,5 millions d'euros a fait l'objet d'un appel au mécénat coordonné par Noirmontartproduction en collaboration avec le Fonds pour Paris, fonds de dotation de la Ville de Paris. Ces deux structures apportant gracieusement leur concours au projet.

Les fonds ont été levés auprès de donateurs français et américains, tous très attachés aux liens d'amitié et de solidarité qui unissent nos deux peuples et soucieux de les pérenniser.

Les coûts de fabrication et d'installation étant finalement supérieurs au montant initialement fixé, l'artiste a décidé d’assumer seul les coûts supplémentaires nés des développements du projet.

Afin d'inscrire cette donation dans un esprit de totale générosité, Jeff Koons a souhaité depuis le début du projet offrir les revenus futurs perçus au titre de ses droits d'auteur sur cette œuvre aux associations des familles de victimes.

Par convention signée entre la Ville de Paris et Jeff Koons, qui a confirmé son engagement de façon pérenne, les revenus issus de l’exploitation visuelle de l’œuvre seront ainsi destinés pour 80% à ces associations, qui ont fait part de leur reconnaissance, et pour 20% à la Ville de Paris pour la maintenance de l'œuvre.

Moins de quatre ans après le lancement du projet par Jane Hartley en janvier 2016, c'est ce formidable lien pérenne d'amitié, de solidarité, de force et d'union des peuples américain et français, que célèbrera l'inauguration du Bouquet of Tulips !


Cette donation a été rendue possible grâce au soutien principal de :

WEBER INVESTISSEMENTS
Kenneth C. GRIFFIN
ACCOR
CANTOR FITZGERALD / AUREL BGC
FINANCIÈRE SAINT JAMES Michaël BENABOU
Jane HARTLEY & Ralph SCHLOSSTEIN
LVMH Moët Hennessy - Louis Vuitton
Chaille B. MADDOX & Jonathan A. KNEE
NATIXIS

et au soutien additionnel de:

Debra & Leon BLACK
FREE
TISHMAN SPEYER
Leonard A. LAUDER
JP MORGAN
The Edward John and Patricia ROSENWALD FOUNDATION
BLOOMBERG

À L'ORIGINE...
Jeff Koons offre Bouquet of Tulips à la Ville de Paris et au peuple français comme un symbole d’amitié.

130 ans après que la France a offert la Statue de la Liberté aux États-Unis d’Amérique, l’artiste américain Jeff Koons a souhaité exprimer l’extraordinaire amitié franco-américaine qui perdure et s’épanouit depuis plus de 200 ans, en créant Bouquet of Tulips.

C’est à la suite de discussions entre Jeff Koons et Madame Jane D. Hartley, Ambassadeur des États-Unis d’Amérique en France et à Monaco de mai 2014 à janvier 2017, que l’idée d’offrir un tel symbole de l’amitié entre les peuples français et américain est née.

Jeff Koons explique : « Bouquet of Tulips symbolise l’acte d’offrir, représenté par la main tendue brandissant les fleurs aux couleurs vives. L’œuvre a été créée comme un symbole de souvenir, d’optimisme et de rétablissement, afin de surmonter les terribles évènements qui ont eu lieu à Paris il y a un an.  Bouquet of Tulips évoque la main de la Statue de la Liberté brandissant la torche. Je voulais faire un geste d’amitié entre le peuple américain et le peuple français. Cette œuvre dialogue également avec le Bouquet de l’Amitié de Pablo Picasso et avec sa sculpture La Femme au vase autour de l’acte d’offrir. En regardant cette sculpture, on peut aussi penser aux fleurs impressionnistes de Monet, aux fleurs rococo de François Boucher ou de Jean-Honoré Fragonard. Les fleurs sont universellement liées à l’optimisme, à la renaissance, à la vitalité de la nature et au cycle de la vie.  Elles symbolisent la vie qui continue. »

Pour l’Ambassadeur Hartley, cette donation rappelle que « nos deux pays partagent énormément au niveau politique, économique et culturel mais, plus important encore, que la France et les États-Unis sont profondément attachés au principe universel de Liberté. Tout au long de l’histoire, lorsque l’un de nos deux pays s’est retrouvé en difficulté, l’autre a toujours été solidaire et l’a soutenu. L’art a le pouvoir de rassembler les gens de tous âges, toutes origines, toutes couleurs, toutes croyances. Il est source d’inspiration et d’espérance en l’avenir. »

Madame Anne Hidalgo, Maire de Paris, a indiqué : « Que cet immense artiste décide d’offrir à la Ville de Paris l’idée originale d’une œuvre monumentale, symbolisant la générosité et le partage, témoigne de l’attachement irrévocable entre notre capitale et les États-Unis. La capitale de la France sera heureuse d’accueillir ce Bouquet of Tulips, œuvre emblématique qui a vocation à s’inscrire dans le patrimoine de Paris comme la Statue de la Liberté s’est inscrite dans le patrimoine de New York. Elle participera au rayonnement de notre ville à travers le monde et démontre une fois de plus à quel point Paris est une ville attractive dans le domaine de l’art contemporain. »

Le projet fût annoncé officiellement lors d'une conférence de presse à Paris le 22 novembre 2016, en présence de Jane Hartley, Anne Hidalgo et Jeff Koons.

Le lieu d'implantation devant porter la symbolique de l'œuvre, il avait été alors proposé à l'artiste d'installer l'œuvre Place de Tokyo, sur l'avenue du Président Wilson. Emplacement véhiculant par essence des valeurs culturelles et humaines, puisque situé à l'entrée du Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris et du Palais de Tokyo, portant ainsi la double connotation municipale et nationale de la donation, cette place se situe au cœur d'un quartier emblématique de la générosité américaine envers la France.

Les lieux à proximité immédiate des attentats avaient été écartés dès l'origine du projet, par respect pour les familles de victimes qui souhaitaient en disposer afin d'y installer leurs monuments aux morts.

Des personnalités culturelles françaises ayant contesté le choix de cet emplacement à l'automne 2017, le lieu d'installation fût ensuite l'objet de plusieurs mois de discussion entre la Ville de Paris, le Ministère de la Culture et l'artiste. Un accord fût finalement trouvé le 10 octobre 2018 et l'œuvre sera installée en 2019 dans les jardins des Champs-Élysées à l'arrière du Petit Palais.

Comme historiquement toute donation d'œuvre monumentale, le financement de ce projet est entièrement couvert par des fonds privés franco-américains, à l'instar de la Statue de la Liberté, dont Bartholdi offrit la conception, la sculpture étant payée par des souscriptions publiques françaises et le socle par des souscriptions publiques américaines, pour un coût presque équivalent à celui de la sculpture. Limité aux seuls coûts de fabrication et d'installation de l'œuvre, le financement du Bouquet of Tulips a été trouvé par Noirmontartproduction en coordination avec le Fonds pour Paris, auprès de donateurs désireux de manifester à cette occasion leur attachement aux liens d'amitié et aux valeurs de liberté qui unissent les peuples américain et français.

Une clarification nécessaire, 29 janvier 2018, mise à jour 31 janvier 2018.

Jeff Koons est né en 1955 à York, Pennsylvanie. Il vit et travaille à New York.