SHIRIN NESHAT

LOOKING FOR OUM KULTHUM - ARTWORKS

"Shirin Neshat - Looking for Oum Kulthum" exhibition at the Musée de l'Elysée,
Lausanne, June 22 - August 25, 2019.

DESCRIPTION :

8 photographs: Ink on C-print. Unique edition of 5 plus 2 artist's proofs. Signed, dated, titled and numbered on the reverse.

2 videos: Unique edition of 5 plus 1 artist's proof.
- Remembrance
, 2019
Single-channel HD Video. Duration: 8 min 33 s
- In Trance, 2019
Single-channel HD Video. Duration: 9 min 43 s

IN A FEW WORDS ...

Two years after the unveiling of her movie Looking for Oum Kulthum within the 2017 Venice Mostra, Shirin Neshat displays the artworks from the eponymous series, a group of 8 photographs and 2 videos.

These artworks were created apart from the film, which relates the story of Mitra, an Iranian film director living in exile, who embarks on her dream project of making a film about the legendary Egyptian singer and diva Oum Kulthum.

Inspired by classic 1950's Egyptian movie posters, the 8 photographs feature the actresses of the film in portraits of Oum Kulthum at different stages of her life and career... Frontal and striking images that attempt to capture the mythical nature of the famous Egyptian diva.

Each of these portraits, all large in size (approximatively 50 x 65 in.), bears the title of one of Oum Kulthum's songs, written with ink on the print in Farsi and Arabic calligraphy.

In a much more dreamlike atmosphere than that of the movie, the two videos, Remembrance and In Trance, offer us two emotional and sensitive visions of Oum Kulthum's intimate character and of her mystical power on people.

The two videos offer us two emotional and sensitive visions of Oum Kulthum and of her mystical power on people.

As the artist states:

Remembrance
"Created as in a state of a dream, a young boy traces Oum Kulthum’s aura and voice through a peculiar labyrinth of time and space. From the boy’s point of view, we observe this larger than life female icon, both in the intimacy of her solitude, and face to face with her audience. Through multiple visual and musical juxtapositions, what prevails is the melancholy of an artist as she battles with fame and a desire to be set free."

In Trance
"This short video attempts to capture the mystical power of Oum Kulthum’s music, which was commonly known to elevate her audience into a state of ecstasy (Tarab in Arabic), losing all concepts of time and place.  While exploring her fans’ emotional and out-of-body experience, literally hypnotized by Oum’s voice; we also get a glimpse into the young Oum’s psychological state, as she fears failure in fulfilling the hearts and souls of her admirers."

Shirin Neshat was born in 1957 in Qazvin, Iran.
She lives and works in New York.

SHIRIN NESHAT

LOOKING FOR OUM KULTHUM - ŒUVRES

Exposition "Shirin Neshat - Looking for Oum Kulthum" au Musée de l'Élysée,
Lausanne, 22 juin - 25 août 2019.

Vidéos exposées dans le cadre de l’exposition "Shirin Neshat - Looking For Oum Kulthum", Museo Nationale d’Arte Médiévale e Moderne della Basilicata Palazzo Lanfranchi, Matera 2019 Capitale Européenne de la Culture,
Matera, Italie, 11 septembre 2019 - 12 janvier 2020.

Exposition "Shirin Neshat - Looking for Oum Kulthum",
Association Azzedine Alaïa,
Paris, 6 novembre 2019 - 5 janvier 2020 (photos & vidéos).
Sidi Bou Said, Tunisie, 18 novembre 2019 - 17 mai 2020 (vidéos).

DESCRIPTIF :

8 photographies : Encre sur tirage couleur. Édition unique à 5 exemplaires et 2 épreuves d'artiste. Signées, datées, titrées, et numérotées au dos.

2 vidéos : Édition unique à 5 exemplaires et 1 épreuve d'artiste.
- Remembrance, 2019
Vidéo HD monocanal. Durée: 8 min 33 s
- In Trance, 
2019
Vidéo HD monocanal. Durée: 9 min 43 s

Communiqué de presse de l’exposition "Shirin Neshat - Looking for Oum Kulthum" au Musée de l'Élysée, Lausanne
Communiqué de presse de la Nuit des images 2019

Communiqué de presse de l'exposition "Shirin Neshat - Looking for Oum Kulthum" à l'Association Azzedine Alaïa, Paris

 

EN QUELQUES MOTS ...

Deux ans après la présentation de son film long-métrage Looking for Oum Kulthum lors de la Mostra de Venise 2017, Shirin Neshat dévoile les œuvres de la série éponyme, un ensemble de 8 photographies et 2 vidéos.

Ces œuvres ont été créées séparément du film, qui retrace l'histoire de Mitra, une réalisatrice iranienne en exil, qui réalise son rêve en produisant un film sur la légendaire chanteuse et diva égyptienne Oum Kulthum.

Les 8 photographies, traitées dans le style des affiches de film typiques des années 1950 en Égypte, mettent en scène les actrices du film dans des portraits d'Oum Kulthum à des périodes différentes de sa vie et de sa carrière... Des images frontales et marquantes, qui tentent de saisir la personnalité mythique de la célèbre diva égyptienne.

Chacun de ces portraits de grand format (environ 120 x 165 cm) porte le titre d'une chanson d'Oum Kulthum, inscrit à l'encre sur le tirage en calligraphie farsi ou arabe.

Dans une atmosphère beaucoup plus onirique que celle du long-métrage, les deux vidéos, Remembrance (Souvenir) et In Trance (En transe), nous offrent deux visions pleines d'émotion et de sensibilité sur la personnalité intime d'Oum Kulthum et l'emprise mystique qu'elle exerçait sur les gens.

Les deux vidéos nous offrent deux visions pleines d'émotion et de sensibilité sur Oum Kulthum et l'emprise mystique qu'elle exerçait sur les gens.

Comme l'artiste le raconte:

Remembrance
"Comme dans un rêve, un jeune garçon revient sur la trace de l'aura et la voix d'Oum Kulthum dans un étrange labyrinthe temporel et spatial. Nous observons cette icône hors du commun à travers le regard du garçon, dans l'intimité de sa solitude comme dans le face-à-face avec son public. Grâce à de multiples juxtapositions visuelles et musicales, s'impose la mélancolie d'une artiste dans sa lutte entre célébrité et désir d'affranchissement."

In Trance
"Cette courte vidéo tente de capturer le pouvoir mystique de la musique d'Oum Kulthum, notoirement connue pour transcender son public jusqu'à l'extase (Tarab en arabe), perdant toute notion de temps et d'espace. En explorant le ressenti émotionnel et hors corps de ses fans, littéralement hypnotisés par sa voix, nous entrevoyons aussi l'état psychologique de la jeune Oum, quand elle craint de ne pas arriver à satisfaire les cœurs et âmes de ses admirateurs."

Shirin Neshat est née en 1957 à Qazvin en Iran.
Elle vit et travaille à New-York.