JOANA HADJITHOMAS & KHALIL JOREIGE

UNCONFORMITIES

Installation created for the Prix Marcel Duchamp 2017 and exhibited at the Centre Pompidou.
Paris, September 27, 2017 - January 8, 2018.

Exhibited in "Unconformities" at the Acropolis Museum, within the Onassis Fast Forward Festival 5, Athens, May 2-16, 2018.

DESCRIPTION :

- Time Capsules, 2017
Unconformities project
Mixed media. Recomposition of elements from corings, experimental resin and tube in Perspex.
- Palimpsests, 2017
Unconformities project
Video HD, 12' 40".
- Zig Zag Over Time, 2017
Unconformities project
Photographic works on paper. Possible narratives in Paris, Beirut, Athens. Archaeological and geological drawings.

Curator of the exhibition: Alicia Knock.
Rapporteur: Clément Dirié.

In collaboration with the gallery In Situ Fabienne Leclerc.

IN A FEW WORDS ...

Winners of the Prix Marcel Duchamp 2017, Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige exhibit their new works at the Centre Pompidou along with the three other finalists.

Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige present artworks deriving from coring extracted from the underground of construction sites to be analyzed before construction. From these elements which are meant to disappear, they show the vestiges and the invisible transformations of buried cities and underground worlds, particularly under three omnipresent cities in their personal imaginary: Paris, Athens and Beirut.

These poetical recompositions unveil the geological movements between disaster and regeneration.

With the help of archeologists, historians, geologists and illustrators, the artists seek to tell some stories and transformations of our world. What do we perceive from the marks of history buried under our feet, from the disasters and the ruptures? Everything is leveled, buried, covered, then it all starts again.

The discontinuities or "unconformities" - temporal ruptures, geological accidents and disorders - question the possible stories and the representations of this complex and irregular history that do not consist in a succession of layers but in actions involving different ages and civilizations. 

These poetical recompositions unveil the geological movements between disaster and regeneration, as well as the constant cycles of human construction and destruction like palimpsests, each civilization reusing the stones from the last one. The works question also the Anthropocene, an age that would mark the beginning of the durable impact of human action on environment, and sound the construction of the past in our imagination to explore the present.

Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige were born in 1969 in Beirut. They live and work in Beirut and Paris.

JOANA HADJITHOMAS & KHALIL JOREIGE

UNCONFORMITIES

Installation conçue pour le Prix Marcel Duchamp 2017, exposée au Centre Pompidou.
Paris, 27 septembre 2017 – 8 janvier 2018.

DESCRIPTIF :

- Time Capsules, 2017
Projet Unconformities
Technique mixte. Recomposition d'éléments issus de forages, résine expérimentale et tube en Perspex.
- Palimpsestes, 2017
Projet Unconformities
Video HD, 12' 40".
- Zig Zag au fil du temps, 2017
Projet Unconformities
Oeuvres photographiques sur papier. Récits possibles à Paris, Beyrouth et Athènes. Dessins archéologiques et géologiques, mise en évidence d'éléments.

Commissaire de l'exposition: Alicia Knock.
Rapporteur: Clément Dirié.

En collaboration avec la galerie In Situ Fabienne Leclerc.

EN QUELQUES MOTS ...

Lauréats du Prix Marcel Duchamp 2017, Joana Hadjithomas et Khalil Joreige exposent leurs nouveaux travaux au Centre Pompidou aux côtés des trois autres finalistes.

Joana Hadjithomas et Khalil Joreige présentent des œuvres issues de carottages extraits du sous-sol d’un site pour être analysés avant une construction. À partir de ces éléments voués à disparaître, ils donnent à voir les vestiges et transformations invisibles des cités enfouies et des mondes souterrains, en particulier sous trois villes omniprésentes dans leur vécu personnel : Paris, Athènes et Beyrouth. 

Ces recompositions poétiques dévoilent les mouvements géologiques entre catastrophe et régénération.

Avec l’aide d’archéologues, d’historiens, de géologues et de dessinateurs, les artistes cherchent à raconter certaines histoires et transformations de notre monde. Que perçoit-on des traces de l’histoire enfouies sous nos pieds, des catastrophes et des ruptures ? Tout est aplani, enfoui, recouvert, puis tout recommence.

Les discontinuités ou « unconformities » – ruptures temporelles, accidents et désordres géologiques – interrogent les récits possibles et les représentations de cette histoire irrégulière et complexe qui ne se résument pas à une succession de strates mais à des actions mêlant diverses époques et civilisations.

Ces recompositions poétiques dévoilent les mouvements géologiques entre catastrophe et régénération ainsi que les cycles constants de construction et de destruction de l'Homme tels des palimpsestes, chaque civilisation réutilisant les pierres des précédentes. Les œuvres questionnent également l’Anthropocène, époque qui marquerait le début de l’impact durable de l’action humaine sur l’environnement et sondent la construction du passé dans notre imaginaire pour explorer le présent.

Joana Hadjithomas et Khalil Joreige sont nés en 1969 à Beyrouth, ils vivent et travaillent à Beyrouth et Paris.