SHIRIN NESHAT

LOOKING FOR OUM KULTHUM

Feature film premiered at Venice Film Festival (September 2, 2017), Toronto International Film Festival (September 11, 2017), London Film Festival (October 7, 2017) and Hamburg Film Festival (October 12, 2017).

The Voice of a Woman Film Festival, The Paley Center for Media, New-York, November 4, 2017.
Lo Schermo Dell'Arte Film Festival, Cinema La Compagnia, Florence, November 18, 2017.

DESCRIPTION :

Film written by Shirin Neshat and Shoja Azari, directed by Shirin Neshat.
Starring: Neda Rahmanian, Yasmin Raeis, Mehdi Moinzadeh, Kais Nashif.
Lenght: 90 minutes.
A Razor Film production, in coproduction with Coop99, In Between Art Film, Vivo Film, Schortcut Films in association with Doha Film Institute, in collaboration with ORF, with the support of Noirmontartproduction, Austrian Film Institute, FISA - Film Industry Support Austria, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, Vienna Film Fund, Regione Lazio.

Film excerpt 

IN A FEW WORDS ...

Looking for Oum Kulthum relates the story of Mitra, an Iranian film director living in exile, who embarks on her dream project of making a film about the legendary Egyptian singer and diva Oum Kulthum. Throughout her movie, Mitra explores the struggles, sacrifices and the price of Oum Kulthum's success as a female artist in a male dominated society.

However, having left her family behind for her career and in her efforts to capture the essence of Oum Kulthum as a myth, a woman and an artist, Mitra's own struggles blend with those of the singer and she finds herself caught in an emotional and artistic breakdown.
It is "a film within a film", where the boundaries of fiction and reality become increasingly blurred.

"A film within a film", where the boundaries between fiction and reality are increasingly blurred.

Commenting on the film, Neshat says: For the past twenty years, as a visual artist and a filmmaker, I have explored diverse concepts and narratives in relation to Muslim women. In 2009, I directed my first feature film Women Without Men, based on a magical realist novel written by the Iranian female author, Shahrnush Parsipur.

Continuing with my obsession with female strength and artistic expression in the Muslim world, since 2010, I have been developing this feature film project based on the art and life of the legendary Egyptian singer Oum Kulthum (1900–1975), whose music and larger-than-life persona has and continues to be embedded in the hearts and imaginations of millions of Middle Easterners.

Shirin Neshat was born in 1957, she lives and works in New-York

SHIRIN NESHAT

LOOKING FOR OUM KULTHUM

Film long-métrage diffusé en avant-première au Venice Film Festival (2 septembre 2017), au Toronto International Film Festival (11 septembre 2017), au London Film Festival (7 octobre 2017) et au Hamburg Film Festival (12 octobre 2017).

DESCRIPTIF :

Film écrit par Shirin Neshat et Shoja Azari, réalisé par Shirin Neshat.
Avec: Neda Rahmanian, Yasmin Raeis, Mehdi Moinzadeh, Kais Nashif.
Durée: 90 minutes.
Une production de Razor Film, en coproduction avec Coop99, In Between Art Film, Vivo Film, Schortcut Films en association avec Doha Film Institute, en collaboration avec ORF, avec le soutien de Noirmontartproduction, Austrian Film Institute, FISA - Film Industry Support Austria, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, Vienna Film Fund, Regione Lazio.

Extrait du film

EN QUELQUES MOTS ...

Looking for Oum Kulthum retrace l'histoire de Mitra, une réalisatrice iranienne en exil, qui réalise son rêve en produisant un film sur la légendaire chanteuse et diva égyptienne Oum Kulthum. À travers son film, Mitra retrace le combat, les sacrifices et le prix du succès d'Oum Kulthum en tant qu'artiste féminine dans une société dominée par les hommes.

Cependant, ayant privilégié sa carrière à sa famille et s'efforçant de capturer l'essence d'Oum Kulthum en tant que mythe, femme et artiste, les combats de Mitra se mêlent à ceux de la chanteuse et elle se retrouve prise au piège dans une dépression émotionnelle et artistique.
Il s'agit alors d'"un film à l'intérieur d'un film", où les barrières entre fiction et réalité se troublent de plus en plus. 

"Un film à l'intérieur d'un film", où les barrières entre fiction et réalité se troublent.

Shirin Neshat commente au sujet du film: durant les vingt dernières années en tant qu'artiste visuel et réalisatrice, j'ai exploré différents concepts et récits en relation avec les femmes musulmanes. En 2009, j'ai réalisé mon premier long métrage Women Without Men, basé sur un roman réaliste et magique de l'auteure iranienne Shahrnush Parsipur.

Depuis 2010, poursuivant mon obsession de la force féminine et de l'expression artistique dans le Monde Musulman, j'ai développé ce long métrage basé sur l'art et la vie de la légendaire chanteuse égyptienne Oum Kulthum (1900-1975), dont la musique et la personnalité hors du commun ont été et restent intégrées dans le coeur et l'imagination de millions de personnes du Moyen-Orient.

Shirin Neshat est née en 1957, elle vit et travaille à New-York.