LORIS GRÉAUD

SCULPT

Film released in exclusivity within the Bing Theater at LACMA – Los Angeles County Museum of Art.
Los Angeles, August 16 - October 24, 2016.

DESCRIPTION :

Film written and directed by Loris Gréaud.
Starring: Willem Dafoe, Charlotte Rampling, Pascal Greggory, The Residents, Abel Ferrara, Michael Lonsdale, Claude Parent, Voodoo Queen Priestess Miriam Chamani, Betty Catroux.
Original soundtrack: The Residents.
Running time: 70 - 120 minutes.
In association with Cryptic Corporation - Greaudstudio.
Production in association with MK2. 

Official trailer and film's website.

IN A FEW WORDS ...

Sculpt, is Loris Gréaud's first major exhibition project to take place on the West Coast of the United States, as well as being his first feature-length film.It offers a unique experience to each viewer who sees it as an immersive environment. For this presentation, LACMA's Bing Theater will be reconfigured for only one audience member at time. Each screening will therefore turn into and unique one-person experience, with the movie seemingly watching its visitor as it is watched.

Sculpt is a social science-fiction movie that depicts how a market of unprecedented shapes and experiences organizes itself. These new shapes and experiences are all the more sought after as they are evasive. The thought recording and the fascination of internal space are not any more fantasies but the true subject of a global market that feeds itself from the quest of these moments of pure intensity, beauty experiences, thought and obsessions.

Rethinking cinema in form, content, and its relationship to audience.

The movie relates how this ecosystem structures itself with its new “dealers”, intermediaries, buyers, “collectors” and “producers”, and how this elite sets experiences whose sole subject is the quest for the masterpiece of its type. No one suspects what is plot behind these “objects” while the counterpoint of this universe is simultaneously being set up: a black market of impure experiences, a dystopian and violent universe.

The film follows the thoughts of a man about whom we know very little, who seems to be constantly developing the concept of what experiencing beauty, thought, or obsession can be, despite the risks to which the subjects are exposed in the long term. The character imagines himself able to control the game of supply and demand of this new universe, and to enact its rules and standards. But he will soon discover that the limits of the internal spaces of the market that represents them are being as one.

The LACMA exhibition, sole authorized and official venue for this unique presentation, takes place thanks to the generous loan of the film from August 16 to October 24 from Voodoo Queen Priestess Miriam Chamani, who will remain the custodian of the fim master until her death. Then, a series of bootlegs and stolen clips from the movie will occasionally reappear via a black market, during illegal screenings throughout the world, as far as the Dark Net abyss. Sculpt will thus reach its main goal: to become one of the obsessions whose story it endeavored to describe.

Loris Gréaud is born in 1979. He lives and works in Eaubonne, near Paris.

LORIS GRÉAUD

SCULPT

Film présenté en exclusivité au Bing Theater du LACMA – Los Angeles County Museum of Art.
Los Angeles, 16 août - 24 octobre 2016.

DESCRIPTIF :

Film écrit et réalisé par Loris Gréaud.
Avec : Willem Dafoe, Charlotte Rampling, Pascal Greggory, The Residents, Abel Ferrara, Michael Lonsdale, Claude Parent, Voodoo Queen Priestess Miriam Chamani, Betty Catroux.
Bande-Son Originale : THE RESIDENTS.
Durée : variable (70 - 120 minutes).
En association avec Cryptic Corporation - Greaudstudio.
Produit en association avec MK2.

Bande annonce et site du film.

EN QUELQUES MOTS ...

Sculpt est à la fois le premier long-métrage de Loris Gréaud et sa première exposition majeure sur la côte ouest des Etats-Unis où chaque spectateur est invité à découvrir le film lors d’une expérience unique et immersive au sein du Bing Theater, reconfiguré pour l’occasion en une salle pour un public d’une seule personne! Chaque séance se transforme ainsi en une expérience individuelle unique, dans laquelle le film observe le spectateur qui le regarde…

Sculpt est un film de science-fiction social, qui décrit comment s’organise un marché international d’expériences et de formes nouvelles d’autant plus recherchées qu’elles sont presque insaisissables. L’enregistrement de la pensée et la fascination de l’espace intérieur n’y sont désormais plus des fantasmes mais bien l’objet d’un marché global qui se nourrit de la recherche de ces moments d’intensité pure, d’expériences de beauté, de pensée et d’obsessions.

Où le cinéma est repensé dans sa forme, dans son contenu et dans sa relation au public.

Le film relate la façon dont s’articule cet écosystème pourvu de nouveaux « marchands », d’intermédiaires, d’acheteurs, de « collectionneurs » et de « producteurs » et comment cette élite met en place des expériences dont l’unique objet est la recherche du chef-d’œuvre du genre. Personne ne soupçonne ce qui se trame derrière ces “objets” alors que parallèlement, se met en place le contrepoint de cet univers : un marché noir d’expériences impures, un univers dystopique et violent.

Le film évolue au rythme de la pensée d'un homme dont on sait peu de choses. Il semble toujours pousser plus loin l’idée même de ce que peut être une expérience de beauté, de pensée, d’obsession, en dépit des risques que finissent par encourir les personnes qui y sont sujettes. Il s’imagine pouvoir maîtriser le jeu de l’offre et de la demande de ce nouvel univers, lui édicter ses règles et ses critères. Mais il découvrira bientôt que les limites des espaces intérieurs et du marché qui les représente ne font plus qu’un.

La présentation au LACMA, en exclusivité totale du 16 août au 24 octobre, est rendue possible grâce au prêt généreux de la Reine Prêtresse Vaudoue Miriam Chamani, seule dépositaire du master du film jusqu’à sa mort. Par la suite, une série d’enregistrements pirates et d’extraits volés réapparaîtront occasionnellement sur le marché noir, lors de projections illégales à travers le monde, aussi loin que les abysses du Dark Net. Sculpt atteindra alors son but ultime : devenir l’une des obsessions dont il s’efforce de décrire l’histoire.

Loris Gréaud est né en 1979, il vit et travaille à Eaubonne, en banlieue parisienne.